Book Lists · Top Ten Tuesday

9/15/20 Top Ten Tuesday: Don’t Judge a Book By Its Cover

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. This week’s theme was a cover freebie, and I decided to talk about books I chose because I liked the covers. I mean, I always tell myself I’m choosing books because of their descriptions, but somehow I know I’m being distracted by pretty things….

  1. Dust by Kara Swanson

Those of you who read my review know that this one didn’t end up working for me. But we can all agree that the cover is gorgeous, right?

2. Seasons of the Storm by Elle Cosimano

I liked the description of this one also, but ultimately, how was I supposed to resist that cover? Thankfully, Seasons of the Storm lived up to its pretty cover. See my review here.

3. Crowned a Traitor by Kate Callaghan

This one isn’t the prettiest cover on the list, but there is something simple and spooky about it that appeals to me. I just reviewed it yesterday, and sadly, it is definitely my least favorite book on the list. Do not judge this one by its cover!

4. Stepsister by Jennifer Donnelly

I listed to the audiobook version of this one last year, before I started blogging, so I haven’t reviewed it on here. I really liked it though, enough that I bought my own hardback copy (and it is even more beautiful in person).

5. Faerie Wars by Herbie Brennan

Again, this one is prettier in person (that yellow is actually a pretty gold), and it is definitely the cover that sucked me in. I picked it up at a thrift store, but on looking into it online, I quickly lost interest. I probably should always look books up if the description isn’t on the cover. But sometimes the immediate temptation of a pretty book is too much for me.

6. The Last Voyage of Poe Blythe by Ally Condie

I was drawn to this one first because of the cover, but also because I recognized the author and was curious. I still think the cover is pretty and kind of mysterious…can covers be mysterious? Anyway, I liked this one, although it was a little sad. See my review here.

7. Eight Will Fall by Sara Harian

This cover is super cool, isn’t it? I love how the girl’s profile contains the climbers and torches. Unfortunately, this one was a total let down. Way too creepy for my taste, and I like things a little creepy. If that sounds appealing to you, check out my full review.

8. Crave by Tracy Wolff

It is hard for me to resist vampire romances in general, and this cover totally reeled me in. But am I the only one reminded of the Twilight Saga covers…? Anyway, I was kind of meh with this one. It was alright, but maybe didn’t quite measure up to the beautiful cover. See my review here.

9. Crystal Heart by Whitney Morris

This reminds me of Crowned a Traitor’s cover, and I guess it appeals to me for the same reasons. I tend to like things with trees on them. Anyway, this one was so-so for me. I enjoyed it, but I’m hoping the sequel improves on the ideas here. My review is here.

9. The Beautiful by Renee Ahdieh

Isn’t this one Beautiful? Sorry, lol, I couldn’t help myself. Anyway, I’m currently reading this one under the pretense of it being a vampire novel, but really, I’ve been eyeing it for a while solely because it’s pretty. Hopefully I end up enjoying the book as much as the cover!

Well, this was fun. I haven’t done a TTT freebie before. What cover topic did you guys choose?

23 thoughts on “9/15/20 Top Ten Tuesday: Don’t Judge a Book By Its Cover

Leave a comment